Retrouvez nous sur :  facebook    Google+

Chardonnay

chardonnay

Name and Etymology:
Chardonnay is the name of a village in Burgundy located in the Haut-Mâconnais.

Synonyms:
In the South-West, we find it under its name of origin but especially under the terms of Engrunat (meaning that the grapes are easy to pick off the bunch) or of Machouquet (meaning “tuft” and related to the type of conduct of this vine often found at ground level).

Colour:         White

Geographical origin:
The origin from Burgundy doesn’t raise a doubt.  It seems that Chardonnay is a very old vine.

Filiations:
The legend which claimed that this vine was brought back by the Crusaders has been disproved by modern genetic techniques.  Chardonnay seems to be the result of a crossing between a Pinot Noir and a Gouais Blanc, two ancestral vines of our antique Gaulle.  Due to its intrinsic properties, Chardonnay has been used for numerous crossings and the creation of new vines without ever giving as good results as the qualitative clones of the mother stock.

Appellations using it and / or major areas of production abroad:
The list of appellations and wine regions is exhaustive.  It is surely one of the most planted vines in the world if not the most planted one.  For a very long time scarcely present in the South-West, it has benefitted from its worldwide popularity to reconquer for the past 40 years certain areas of our region.  It is therefore found in Gascogne, in the Limoux area or even in the Tarn vineyards.

Production potential:
Because of its age, Chardonnay has today a strong genetic variability.  Different clones have been selected according to their specific aptitudes.  We can nevertheless say that Chardonnay is a rather fertile vine.  Its Northern origins make it intolerant of too intense droughts and in warm climates, the wines created are often heavy due to the low acidity of the juices.  Naturally generous, it is necessary to control it and to opt for little fertile clones to avoid the risks of rot.

Best examples / Oenological potential
Chardonnay is a polymorphic vine; it can give very different wines depending on the conduct of the vineyard, of the geographical region, of the winemaking or even planting methods.  Certainly, some Burgundian vintages give wines of an incredible purity but certain areas of the new winemaking world offer just as magnificent examples.  Thus, we can find bottles in New Zealand, in South Africa or even in the United Sates competing with bottles from Burgundy.

 

Tel +33 (0)5 59 05 14 66 – Fax :  +33 (0)5 59 05 47 09 – Email : sudouest@osmin.fr

Lionel Osmin et Cie - 9 rue ADA BYRON - 64000 PAU

Retrouvez nous sur :  facebook    Google+

Chardonnay

chardonnayLe nom et étymologie

Chardonnay est le nom d'un village bourguignon situé dans le Haut-Mâconnais.

Les synonymes
En Sud Ouest nous le retrouvons sous son nom d'origine mais aussi sous les termes d'Engrunat (signifiant s'égrenant facilement) ou encore de Machouquet (signifiant « touffe » et relatif au mode de conduite de ce cépage souvent au ras du sol).

La couleur : Blanc

L'origine géographique
L'origine bourguignonne ne fait aucun doute. Il semble aussi que le Chardonnay soit un cépage très ancien.

Les filiations
La légende qui tendait à dire que ce cépage fût ramené par les Croisés a été mise à mal par les techniques génétiques modernes. Le Chardonnay serait issu d'un croisement de Pinot noir et d'un Gouais blanc, deux cépages ancestraux de notre Gaulle antique.
Du fait de ses qualités intrinsèques, le chardonnay a été utilisé pour de nombreux croisements et l'obtention de nouveaux cépages sans jamais donner d'aussi bons résultats que les clones qualitatifs de la souche mère.

Les appellations qui l'utilisent et /ou zones de production majeures à l'étranger
La liste des appellations et régions viticoles est exhaustive. Il est sûrement l'un des cépages le plus planté au monde si ce n'est le premier. Présent à l'état de traces dans le Sud Ouest depuis fort longtemps, il a bénéficié de son engouement planétaire pour reconquérir depuis 40 ans certaines zones de notre région. Il se retrouve ainsi en Gascogne, dans la zone de Limoux ou encore dans les vignobles Tarnais.

Le potentiel de production
Du fait de son grand âge, le Chardonnay possède aujourd'hui une forte variabilité génétique. Différents clones ont été sélectionnés en fonction de leurs aptitudes particulières. Nous pouvons cependant dire que le Chardonnay est un cépage assez fertile. Ses origines septentrionales lui font mal accepter les sécheresses trop intenses, et en climats chauds les vins obtenus sont souvent lourds du fait de la faible acidité des jus. Naturellement généreux, il faut le contraindre et opter pour des clones peu fertiles, sans quoi les risques de pourriture sont assez importants.

Les plus belles expressions / potentiel œnologique.
Le Chardonnay est un cépage polymorphique, il peut donner des vins très différents en fonction de la conduite du vignoble, de la zone géographique, de la vinification ou encore de l'élevage. Certes certains crus bourguignons donnent des vins d'une pureté incroyable, mais certaines zones du nouveau monde viticole déclinent le chardonnay de manière tout aussi magnifique. Ainsi nous retrouvons en Nouvelle Zélande, en Afrique du sud ou encore aux Etats Unis des bouteilles jouant dans la même cour que les flacons bourguignons.

 

Tel +33 (0)5 59 05 14 66 – Fax :  +33 (0)5 59 05 47 09 – Email : sudouest@osmin.fr

Lionel Osmin et Cie - 9 rue ADA BYRON - 64000 PAU